MGT414: SANS Training Program for CISSP Certification

SANS MGT414: SANS Training Program for CISSP Certification is an accelerated review course that is specifically designed to prepare students to successfully pass the CISSP exam. MGT414 focuses solely on the 8 domains of knowledge as determined by (ISC)² that form a critical part of CISSP exam. Each domain of knowledge is dissected into its critical components, and those components are then discussed in terms of their relationship with one another and with other areas of information security.

Register at ➚


Registration includes: Classroom training, course books, study materials, lecture audio files, snacks, beverages, and peer networking opportunities.

Who should attend

  • Security professionals who want to understand the concepts covered in the CISSP exam as determined by (ISC)².

  • Managers who want to understand the critical areas of information security.

  • System, security, and network administrators who want to understand the pragmatic applications of the CISSP 8 domains.

  • Security professionals and managers looking for practical ways to apply the 8 domains of knowledge to their current activities.

What you’ll learn

  • Understand the 8 domains of knowledge that are covered on the CISSP exam.

  • Analyze questions on the exam and be able to select the correct answer.

  • Apply the knowledge and testing skills learned in class to pass the CISSP exam.

  • Understand and explain all of the concepts covered in the 8 domains of knowledge.

  • Apply the skills learned across the 8 domains to solve security problems when you return to work.

Course Outline

Introduction: Security and Risk Management
On the first day of training for the CISSP exam, MGT414 introduces the specific requirements needed to obtain certification. The 2015 exam update will be discussed in detail. We will cover the general security principles needed to understand the 8 domains of knowledge, with specific examples for each domain. The first of the 8 domains, Security and Risk Management, is discussed using real-world scenarios to illustrate the critical points.

Asset Security and Security Engineering (Part 1)
Understanding asset security is critical to building a solid information security program. The Asset Security domain, the initial focus of today's course section, describes data classification programs, including those used by both governments/militaries and the private sector. We will also discuss ownership, covering owners ranging from business/mission owners to data and system owners. We will examine data retention and destruction in detail, including secure methods for purging data from electronic media. We then turn to the first part of the Security Engineering domain, including new topics for the 2019 exam such as the Internet of Things, Trusted Platform Modules, Cloud Security, and much more.

Security Engineering (Part 2): Communication and Network Security
This section continues the discussion of the Security Engineering domain, including a deep dive into cryptography. The focus is on real-world implementation of core cryptographic concepts, including the three types of cryptography: symmetric, asymmetric, and hashing. Salts are discussed, as well as rainbow tables. We will round out Domain 3 with a look at physical security before turning to Domain 4, Communication and Network Security. The discussion will cover a range of protocols and technologies, from the Open Systems interconnection (OSI) model to storage area networks.

Identity and Access Management
Controlling access to data and systems is one of the primary objectives of information security. Domain 5, Identity and Access Management, strikes at the heart of access control by focusing on identification, authentication, and authorization of accounts. Password-based authentication represents a continued weakness, so Domain 5 stresses multi-factor authentication, biometrics, and secure credential management. The 2015 CISSP® exam underscores the increased role of external users and service providers, and mastery of Domain 5 requires an understanding of federated identity, SSO, SAML, and third-party identity and authorization services like Oauth and OpenID.

Security Assessment and Testing: Security Operations
This course section covers Domain 6 (Security Assessment) and Domain 7 (Security Operations). Security Assessment covers types of security tests, testing strategies, and security processes. Security Operations covers investigatory issues, including eDiscovery, logging and monitoring, and provisioning. We will discuss cutting-edge technologies such as cloud, and we'll wrap up day five with a deep dive into disaster recovery.

Software Development Security
Domain 8 (Software Development Security) describes the requirements for secure software. Security should be "baked in" as part of network design from day one, since it is always less effective when it is added later to a poor design. We will discuss classic development models, including waterfall and spiral methodologies. We will then turn to more modern models, including agile software development methodologies. New content for the 2015 CISSP® exam update will be discussed, including DevOps. We will wrap up by discussing security vulnerabilities, secure coding strategies, and testing methodologies.

Register at ➚